Creation of Separate Province or Modern State of Odisha

The establishment of a separate province is a watershed moment in modern Odisha’s history. Odsha disintegrated into several regional kingdoms following 1568. Khurdha’s Bhois, Ghumsur’s and Myurbhanj’s Bhanjas, and Sambalpur’s Chauhans gradually gained political prominence. Either the Mughals or the Marathas were unable to restore Odsha’s political unity. The East India Company gradually conquered Odsha; first the southern region, then the coastal region, and finally Sambalpur and the adjoining tracts. Due to this piecemeal conquest, the British could not impose their rule on a united Odsha. Its southern portion was administered by the Madras Presidency, the coastal region by the Bengal Presidency, and the western portion by the Central Provinces. The Odia-speaking people were classified as neglected, insignificant, and minority groups by three different administrations. Odisha, on the other hand, became a separate state on 1st April 1936.

1. The problems of the division of Odisha
2. Story of Creation of a Separate Province or Modern State of Odisha