Capture of Sambalpur

Harcourt wrote conciliatory letters to the Rajas of Baud in response to Major Forbes’ occupation of Baramula Pass on 2 November 1803. Sonepur and Sambalpur tom recognise the British authority, which they gratefully acknowledged by paying annual tributes. Sambalpur, on the other hand, remained an exception. In January 1804, Major Broughton defeated Maratha Governor Tantia Pharnavis in Sambalpur.

He concluded amicable treaties with Sambalpur’s queen Ratnakumari and the local chiefs of Raigarh, Gangapur, Bamara, and Bonai, among others. Broughton, of course, was ignorant of the Deogaon treaty. Additionally, the Deogaon treaty made no mention of Sambalpur. Additionally, the local chiefs never desired to remain under Maratha suzerainty in Nagpur.

When Wellesley’s pursuaslon failed to secure the handover of Sambalpur to the British authorities, he threatened Ragtiuji Bhonsle with war. This had the unintended consequence of the Maratha authority in Nagpur ceding Sarnbalpur to the British. Following Lord Wellesley’s departure, Governor General Barlow, a pacifist, restored Sambalpur to the Marathas. Sambalpur was reintroduced to Maratha rule in 1806 and remained so until 1817. In 1817, the British authorities drove the Marathas out of Sambalpur once more. The Chauhans ruled Sambalpur from 1818 to 1849. It was reannexed to British authority in 1849 following the application of Lord Dalhousie’s Doctrine of Lapse.

Leave a Comment